European Academy of Rehabilitation Medicine Prize

June 10, 2020

(modified July, 2020)

The European Academy of Rehabilitation Medicine has created a prize which is awarded annually. It is aimed at encouraging research and to promote the dissemination of knowledge in the field of health sciences. The prize winner will receive: a certificate from Academy and money for travel and accommodation, to a maximum of 500 euros for the prize to be presented to them at an appropriate European meeting.

A submission should be on a rehabilitation, physical medicine or medico-social topic related to the (re-) integration of persons with disability. It should be the work of a doctor or health professional employed in a Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine Department of a country which has an official delegate in the PMR (Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine) Section of the EUMS (European Union of Medical Specialties

 The work should be written in one of the two official languages of the Academy (English or French). A summary of the work should be presented in the other official language. It should be typed or printed and may be a finished work or set of works that is part of a thesis or consists of at least one publication in a peer-reviewed journal. A short CV must also be sent.

Candidates should submit their work at the latest by 31 August of the year in question to all members of the Prize Commission ( It should be accompanied by a signed letter in one of the two languages, asking for the submission to be considered for the prize and countersigned by the head of the department. A copy of their work and this letter should be sent to each member of the Prize Commission (see below for addresses). If the candidate wishes to send their submission in electronic form under secured PDF they may do so with a hard (printed) copy being sent to the Chair of the Prize Commission. The candidate is responsible for ensuring that each member of the Prize Commission receives the submission in full.

 All candidates will be informed of the decision of the Prize Commission. The successful candidate will be invited to present his/her work and to receive the prize at an appropriate European meeting and will be asked for a photo.

If only one submission is received the jury may decide to postpone the award to the next year. The decision of the Prize Commission is final. A list of previous prize winners is published on the Academy website:

As a result to the Covid-19 pandemic many meetings have been canceled , including the biannual Academy meetings. Therefore the Executive Committee has decided to combine the application procedure of 2021 with 2022 with a deadline for submissions on August 31 2022.

Prize Commission

1. Prof João Pinheiro (Chair)

Department of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine

Centro Hospitalar e Universitário de Coimbra Medicina Física e Reabilitação

Praceta Prof Mota Pinto

3000-075 Coimbra


2. Prof M.A. Chamberlain (Deputy Chair)

Emeritus Professor of Rehabilitation Medicine

University of Leeds

Section of Rehabilitation Medicine,

D Floor, Martin Wing

Leeds General Infirmary,

Leeds LS1 3EX, UK.

3. Prof Alain Delarque

Méd.Physique et Réadaptation

Centre Hospitalo-Universitaire Timone


4. Prof Jean-Pierre Didier

CHU Pôle de Médecine Physique et de Réadaptation

23 rue Gaffarel

F21000 DIJON


5. Prof Henk J. Stam,

Dept. of Rehabilitation Medicine,

University Hospital

Erasmus MC

3015 GD Rotterdam


6. Prof Stefano Negrini

University of Brescia

Clinical and Experimental Sciences Department

Viale Europa 11 ​Brescia


7. Prof Hans Rietman

Roessingh Research and Development

Roessinghsbleekweg 33b

7522 AH Enschede

The Netherlands